NEW AT THE LIBRARY!
NEW ITEMS ARE NOW LOCATED ON A DISPLAY RACK BY THE REFERENCE DESK.. CHECK THEM OUT!
NEED HELP CITING A SOURCE? The John J. Wright Library has developed easy to use citation guides containing the most commonly used citation examples in MLA and APA. Click here to go to our Works Cited Help LibGuide.
VALID STUDENT IDS
Don't forget you need a valid student ID to check out library materials. This includes items that are on Reserve.
DON'T FORGET ABOUT EZBORROW!
Need a book from another library?
Get books sent from other libraries to ours. Order the book via the internet at the E-Z Borrow site. For more information ask at the library. It’s easy to use.
What's New at the Library for Faculty
· A LibGuide is a way to organize and showcase library resources and services available to faculty and students for research and study.
· LiGuides effectively invite collaboration between librarians and instructors to meet the research needs of a particular, class or assignment.
· LibGuides organize relevant resources in your field into one accessible webpage that is available 24/7. Simply give your students the url.
Faculty can request a LibGuide to be created for their course(s)
· Contact Jacqueline Bolte or LaVerne Collins to request a Libguide .
· Gather the materials that you would like included in the LibGuide.
· Meet with a librarian and discuss additional content.
· A LibGuide will be created with your input.
LAPTOPS AT THE LIBRARY
NEED A COMPUTER TO USE AT THE LIBRARY?
Computers all in use? Want to work on the quiet side of the library?
Check out a laptop at the Circulation desk. Laptops are available to use in the library. All you need is your library bar code. Make sure you know all the rules about loaning a laptop. Once you log out all of your work will be lost so make sure you save it to your thumbdrive or email your work to yourself.
WHAT'S NEW AT THE LIBRARY
IPADS@ THE LIBRARY
To enrich the education of students, the John J. Wright Library of La Roche College was granted funding from the National Library of Medicine to purchase iPads . Through the use of the iPads, students will be able to access valuable reference resources.
- IPads are circulated on a first-come, first-served basis.
- IPads may not be reserved in advance.
- IPads must be checked out in person with a VALID La Roche College ID and driver’s license.
- IPads may be borrowed for a period of three days. A $20.00 per day fine will be assessed for late returns.
Once you checkout an iPad, it is YOUR RESPONSIBILITY. Do not leave the iPad unattended in a public place.
- IPads must be returned to the library circulation desk in person.
- IPads must be returned to the circulation desk by the end of the loan period.
- IPads must not be left on counters, tables, or placed in the book return.
- All peripheral equipment must be returned with the iPad.
Borrowers must remain at the circulation desk while the iPad is inspected upon return.
IPad must be returned at least 30 minutes prior to the library closing time so that staff has adequate time for check-in.
A few reminders. . .
- If you received a new ID don’t forget to get a library barcode. You will need it to check out books, use EZ Borrow, and to use Reserves.
- Don’t forget to use the Student Help Desk for problem concerning: LaRoche Network, LaRoche Email, My LaRoche, Blackboard, MtITLab, Log in Retreiving user account information, Printing Credits, Personal laptop problems. They are located in the Wright Library Room 205. Email them at: firstname.lastname@example.org. Call 412 847-2300.
- No Take-Out Food Boxes in the library.
- No food or drinks by the computers. There are tables on the lower level of the Wright Library building by the vending machines.
Stop in and check us out!
NEW DATABASES AT THE LIBRARY !!
Remember to get a library barcode if you don't already have one. It only takes a few minutes and allows you to check out books, reserves and order books from other libraries.
GLOBAL ISSUES IN CONTEXT
Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
GREENR - Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (Gale)
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
U.S. History in Context (Gale)
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World History in Context (Gale)
World History in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
TO USE THESE DATABASES, LOG IN TO THE ELECTRONIC RESOURCES PAGE AND GO TO THE COMPLETE ALPHABETICAL LISTING PAGE. (Link is located at the bottom right of the ELECTRONIC REOURCE – DATABASE BY SUBJECT PAGE)