This is the "Home" page of the "Library Acquisitions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Acquisitions  

Acquistions Help & Suggestions
Last Updated: Feb 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.laroche.edu/content.php?pid=706461 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Acquisitions at the John J. Wright Library

 

Is there a Subject Area or New Book that you think the John J. Wright Library should acquire?

Email your suggestion, and if it is a proper fit for our collection, we will  acquire it.

 

        Send me an email with your suggestion: 

boltej1@laroche.edu

 

Collection Development

Considerations for Adding an Item to the Collection:

 Primary and secondary factors are considered for all types of materials.

 These factors are vital to ensure the overall high quality of the  library’s collection. 

 

  Primary factors:                                                        

      1.    Curriculum needs, including course offerings, course enrollment, new areas of emphasis, and evolving subject fields

      2.    Research needs

3.    Relative importance in comparison with existing materials

4.    Critical and staff reviews

5.    Price

6.    Appearance of title in special bibliographies or indexes

7.    Reading level   

8.    General needs           

 Secondary factors:

1.    Added copy; added volume; added addition

2.    Enhancement of recognized collection strength

3.    Current vs. retrospective publication       

 

 

Donations

The John J. Wright Library gratefully accepts donations. However, we DO NOT accept the following items:


 VHS tapes

 Cassette tapes

 Books written in a foreign language

 Items that are water damaged or moldy

 Records


 Magazines or periodicals (including National Geographic)


 Textbooks more than 5 years old


 Reader Digest Condensed Books


 Encyclopedias


 Computer Software       

 

EBooks

The John J. Wright Library makes electronic books (ebooks) available through its subscriptions to EBSCO's eBook Collection, Ebrary and R2Library.

Many  ebooks are also available through the online catalog but most are available by going to the Electronic Resources page and clicking on EBooks. You will need your network login to do this.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jacqueline Bolte
Contact Info
John J, Wright Library
LaRoche College
9000 Babcock Blvd
Pittsburgh, PA 15237
Send Email
Subjects:
Acquisitions
 

New Books

In this lively, engaging, and persuasive book, Hacker and Pierson explain how much of our health and prosperity rests on what governments have done. American Amnesia will help slow the intellectual pendulum that is currently swinging towards ananarchic libertarianism that threatens more than a century of American progress." --Angus Deaton, winner of the Nobel Memorial Prize for Economics in 2015

 

Featuring not only philosophers, but also playwrights, anthropologists, convicts, and revolutionaries, At the Existentialist Cafe follows the existentialists' story, from the first rebellious spark through the Second World War, to its role in postwar liberation movements such as anticolonialism, feminism, and gay rights. Interweaving biography and philosophy, it is the epic account of passionate encounters--fights, love affairs, mentorships, rebellions, and long partnerships--and a vital investigation into what the existentialists have to offer us today, at a moment when we are once again confronting the major questions of freedom, global responsibility, and human authenticity in a fractious and technology-driven world.

“Call them eggcorns, malaprops, or sveltes for Daniel Menaker, those happy accidents are the occasions for witty excursions down linguistic roads not taken. He had me from the gecko." 
Geoff Nunberg, author of Going Nucular and language commentator, NPR "Fresh Air" 

 

"Kosher USA" explores the complex encounter between ancient religious principles and modern industrial methods. Drawing on episodes from the lives of the author's own family, it traces how iconic products such as Coca-Cola and Jell-O tried to become kosher. This book adds a significant chapter to the story of Judaism's interaction with non-Jewish cultures and the history of modern Jewish American life, as well as American foodways

 

 

LaRoche College

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip