Finding Government Info
Useful Government Information
The Superintendent of Documents Classification System or SuDocs is based on the issuing agency of the government. The SuDocs system is an alpha-numeric call number scheme which places together on the shelves according to the agency that issued the document. The SuDocs Classification scheme is based on Federal Government Agencies rather than broad subject areas.
Guidelines for Sorting in SuDoc Order
SuDoc classes are arranged alphabetically based on the leading letter(s). The number between the period and colon is a whole number (ex. HS 1.2: comes before HS 1.15:). The colon is the break between the SuDoc stem and its suffix. After the colon, the hierarchy of sorting is as follows:
Both before and after the colon, an empty space will file before a space that has a letter or number (i.e. “nothing” before “something”).
Please note: In the SuDoc system, all the numbers are treated as whole numbers. There are no decimal numbers. The period in the SuDoc number is a period. It separates whole numbers and is not a decimal point.
Public Use of Government Documents
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code). Information can be scanned for free to the email account of your choosing.
To use a computer ask at the circulation desk. They will log you in with a special guest log in.
John J. Wright Library
In 1974, Congressman John Heinz sponsored a bill which established the John J. Wright Library as a depository for free government publications. This means that we receive many books, periodicals, and multimedia items containing information on many subjects from the Government Printing Office. The Government Documents that the Wright Library has in our collection were recently added to our online catalog. When searching, you may come across an item location listed as “Government Documents.” Ask at the desk for assistance in locating these items. This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code).
More Useful Government Information by Subject
Government Information Divided by the following Subject Areas: Government, Education. International & Country, Labor & Economics, Law & Justice
Government & Legislation
United States Code - the codification of the general and permanent laws of the United States, and is updated in print format every six years. The U.S. Code is shelved with the Reference books. R348.7323
The Code of Federal Regulations - the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive Department and agencies of the Federal Government.
The Public Papers of the Presidents series was begun in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission. Noting the lack of uniform compilations of messages and papers of the Presidents before this time, the Commission recommended the establishment of an official series in which Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature could be made available. The Public Papers of the Presidents is shelved with the Reference books. R 353.03 Un3
The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration and contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week. AE 2.109:
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. It provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. The Manual also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions and committees. The Government Manual is shelved with the Reference books. In paper until 2013-R 353 Un3
United States Reports - Cases Adjudged in the Supreme Court (bound). Ju 6.8:
The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the budget. The Report includes: 1) current and foreseeable trends and annual numerical goals concerning topics such as employment, unemployment, production, real income and Federal budget outlays; 2) employment objectives for significant groups of the labor force; 3) annual numeric goals and; 4) a program for carrying out program objectives. PR 43.9:yr
The Congressional Record - the official daily digest of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. X1.1/A
CCD Information on Public Schools & School Districts in the US - Information and Statistics about US Public Schools
National Center for Educational Statistics Site Map - the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Digest of Educational Statistics - The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
International & Country Information
A-Z List of Country and Other Area Pages - Fact Sheets have easy to use links to CIA World Factbook for the country as well as other links. It now takes a two-step process but you can still get basic information about countries.
Country Studies - The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Background Notes - These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
United States Institute of Peace -The United States Institute of Peace is an independent, nonpartisan, national institution established and funded by Congress. Its goals are to help prevent and resolve violent international conflicts, promote post-conflict stability and democratic transformations, and increase peace building capacity, tools, and intellectual capital worldwide.
Labor & Economics
Economic Indicators - provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.
Bureau of Labor Statistics- The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Economy at a Glance - Information & statistics about the US economy.
Economy at a Glance: Pennsylvania - Information & statistics about the state of Pennsylvania's economy.
Law, Legislation & Justice
Supreme Court of the United States: Opinions - Supreme Court Opinions, including latest Slip Opinions.
Legal Information Institute: US Code - This version is generated from the most recent official version made available by the US House of Representatives.
Congress.gov - federal legislative information that is freely available to the public.
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
The official site includes access tools, current economic indicators, and more.
The BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
From the University of Albany School of Criminal Justice
Excellent source for data and statistics on a variety of topics from aging to workplace injuries
A rich source of information about America's health.
This website offers easy access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
From the primary entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
The official site includes access tools, current economic indicators, and more.
Provides information and analysis pertaining to issues affecting U.S. industry competitiveness to facilitate the establishment of sound policies that contribute to U.S. economic welfare.
Last Updated 12/15
ERIC- Educational database. . .