This is the "Home" page of the "Database Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Database Searching  

A short guide to make searching the databases efficient.
Last Updated: Aug 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.laroche.edu/content.php?pid=484789 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to EBSCOhost

 

Search Tips

1.    Identify your topic.

2.    List Keyword (s) or phrases that could be used to describe the subjects including alternative words or phrases that have the same meaning (synonyms).

3.    List any terms that could be used to limit the search by time period or publication.

Determine which databases may be relevant to your topic. Since not all databases tend to be divided by subject area, it is important to know where the topic fits, so that the appropriate database is selected.

 

Citations and Abstracts

Databases that include full-text articles take articles that originally appeared in a magazine, journal, or book, and reproduce them online.

A citation telling the user where the article originally appeared is given at the top of the record.

Many periodical databases with full-text articles also include an abstract or summary of the article.

 

 

What is a Database?

Databases are collections of information organized so that the desired information or data can be retrieved quickly. Databases are organized into records, which are then organized into fields. A record is a collection of related items of information treated as one unit. A field is a single piece of information within a record.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip